Medication Aide

Medication Aide

4hr Medication Aide Refresher

SINGLE-DAY CLASS Cost: $75

Required annual continuing education for Registered Medication Aides (68hr – Assisted Living) and required every 3 years for non-registered Medication Technicians (32hr Medication Technicians in Adult Day Cares, Adolescent Group Homes, Correctional Facilities), this course includes all materials. Topics covered include, but are not limited to, updates on regulations, medication administration, insulin administration, patient safety, facility specific topics.
Certificate will be provided within 14 Business Days (count ONLY Monday through Friday non-holidays) ONLY upon successful completion of the course.  

Prerequisites: Registered Medication Aide, Medication Aide
Class Duration: 4 Hours
Certification Years: 1 required for 68hr Medication Aide (others depend on facility policy)
Book Now

Train-the-Trainer - Medication Aide

SINGLE DAY CLASS Cost: $300

The Train-the-Trainer for Medication Administration is a 1-DAY class and is intended for RNs, LPNs, or Pharmacists who wish to teach unlicensed persons to administer medications in accordance with the Drug Control Act of Virginia. Instruction will be provided based on the Board of Nursing Regulations that govern medication aides, and will show how to establish a programme and its principles of adult learning, prepare and present lesson plans for BOTH the 68-hour curriculum for assisted living facility staff AND on the 32-hour curriculum for Adult Day Cares, Adolescent Group Homes, Correctional Facilities.

Prerequisites: LPN, RN, or Pharmacist
Class Duration: 8 Hours x 1 Day
Certification Years: N/A
Book Now

32Hr Medication Aide

MULTI-DAY CLASS Cost: $325 (Includes Textbook)

The 32-hour Medication Administration Course is a Virginia Board of Nursing-approved curriculum for medication administration. Course content instructs participants how to administer medications and assist resident in self-administering medications, including blood sugar checks and insulin injections.

Prerequisites: None
Additional Requirements: Recommended that participants have a minimum of 40-Hour Direct Care or Personal Care Aide class and be knowledgeable in the skills of Vital Signs (Blood Pressure, Pulse, Respiration).
Course Includes: Classroom Materials and Supplies
Employment Opportunities: Adult Day Care, Adolescent Group Homes, Correctional Facilities
Book Now

68hr Medication Aide

MUTLI-DAY CLASS Cost: $585 (Includes Textbook)

The 68-hour Medication Administration Course is a Virginia Board of Nursing and Department of Social Services-approved programme for Assisted Living Facilities. The course instructs participants how to administer and assist residents in self-administering medications, including blood sugar checks and insulin injections, in the assisted living environment. There are 68 hours of training, consisting of 48 hours of classroom training and 20 hours of Medication Management and Administration clinical training in various assisted living facilities.
The cost includes all classroom materials and 1-set of scrubs *For classes @ Breath of Fresh Air location only. Certificate will be provided within 14 Business Days (count ONLY Monday through Friday non-holidays) ONLY upon successful completion of the course. 
Not Included:
Students will be eligible to apply to Virginia Board of Nursing ($50) and the examination at PSI ($70) to become a Registered Medication Aide (RMA).
Student will also receive a complimentary "4hr Medication Aide Refresher Class" within 60 days’ completion of the course as a review prior to taking their Virginia Board of Nursing Medication Aide competency test.  


Prerequisites: 
A certificate of completion from one of the following:
* Virginia Department of Social Services-approved 40hr Direct Patient Care programme,
* Virginia Medicaid-approved 40hr Personal Care Assistant certificate
* Virginia Board of Nursing-approved Nurse Aide certificate
Additional Requirements: 
1) Current PPD (TB) Test or Chest X-Ray ($25 to $45)
2) Current Criminal Background Check from the Virginia State Police - $15
3) Wrist watch with a sweep second hand (inexpensive $10 to $20)
4) Black Shoes and Black Socks
                ** Must be vinyl or leather (leak-proof) and be closed top, toe and back 
                 ** No canvas or slip-ons, mules, clogs, lace-ups etc.
5) Virginia Board of Nursing Application ($50) and PSI Examination ($70) * Student Responsibility
Class Duration: 10 days to accommodate 68 hours (usually 2 weeks)
Book Now
Share by: